Be Brave.

Today is #internationalwomensday; a perfect time to reflect, celebrate and call for change. Change in the world and change in ourselves. This TED Talk by Girls Who Code Founder Reshma Saujani really hit home for me. She says, “we’re raising our girls to be perfect, and we’re raising our boys to be brave.” When I heard that, I knew she was right. I imaged myself in 6th grade math class, chalk in hand and in the midst of some horrible relay ‘game’ meant to make math ‘fun.’ All I felt was pressure- pressure to be right the first time, pressure to be perfect. How much harder might I have tried if I had felt that being brave was also meaningful?

Surely everyone can think of a time they were afraid to try- but how many more scenarios is a woman likely to recall? I gained so much confidence in college. I attribute a large part of that to how inspiring and empowering my women’s college atmosphere was. After college I conquered many things I was initially afraid of. I lived in another country, I learned a foreign language (my high school self never would’ve believed that one!) and I started my own business.

Let’s all promise ourselves we won’t give up before ever really trying.

PS) Don’t you just love that Be Brave Banner? Find it here.

Leave a Reply

