Love & Marriage

Last Saturday I watched my oldest, dearest friend Bailey get married in the woods and was fortunate to help usher her towards this major milestone in life as her Maid of Honor. This title is a large responsibility, but truly an honor. I’m thankful that everything went beautifully and there were so many special moments. I couldn’t have fulfilled my duties as well without the support of my Mom who is the most prepared and gracious hostess I know. I joked with her that there should actually be an official title for the Maid of Honor’s Mother! She has known Bailey since we were in elementary school so she was happy to contribute to the celebrations. Here’s a look at the festivities…

Bachelorette Party:

Crescent Beach, Florida

Crescent Beach, Florida. We started the day with lunch plus a trip to the beach for mimosas and bocce ball before heading downtown to our hotel that afternoon.

Cheers! Toasting on the pool deck at the Casa Monica Hotel. I love how the exotic design elements throughout the hotel really transport you to Morocco.

Cheers! Toasting on the pool deck at the Casa Monica Hotel. I love how the exotic design elements throughout the hotel really transport you to Morocco. One of my favorite moments was playing a game I organized by asking her groom-to-be, Zak, 20 or so questions in advance and then asking Bailey to guess how he would answer. Of course we turned it into a drinking game, but it was still a sweet way to incorporate her fiancé and we all learned some things about Zak and their relationship.

Our luxurious accommodations; the four-story (!) Kessler Suite. We had reserved a one room suite, but the hotel generously upgraded us!

Our luxurious accommodations; the four-story (!) Kessler Suite. We had reserved a one room suite, but the hotel generously upgraded us! I checked in a little early to set up the room. I also made little ‘Bachelorette Kits’ for all the girls that included practical items like Advil and Altoids plus some fun favors like ring pops and St. Augustine shot glasses.

Recover donuts for the next morning. Adorned with these adorable little glittery toppers I purchased on Etsy (www.etsy.com/shop/SEVENTHandJ).

Recovery donuts for the next morning. I adorned them with lovely little glittery toppers I purchased on Etsy.

Had to bring my Estrella de Mar Weekender bag along. Also, how gorgeous is this velvet tufted headboard?

Had to bring my Estrella de Mar Weekender bag along. Also, how gorgeous is this velvet tufted headboard?

Bridesmaids’ Luncheon:

Another Bridesmaid offered to throw Bailey's shower so my Mom and I hosted the Bridesmaids' Luncheon. My Mom has fond memories of hers and I think this is a wonderful tradition that should make a comeback! It's essentially a time for the bride to be with all her closest female relatives and attendants and give her bridesmaids their gifts.

My Mom and I hosted Bailey’s Bridesmaids’ Luncheon. This was actually my Mom’s idea; she has fond memories of hers and I think this is a wonderful tradition that should make a comeback! It’s essentially a time for the bride to be with all her closest female relatives and friends right before the wedding. This is also the perfect opportunity for the bride to give her attendants their gifts!

This little candy bar served as a fun visual element and as the favors. We provided little white bags for guests to take sweets to-go!

This candy bar served as a fun visual element and as the favors. We provided little white bags for guests to take sweets to-go! Also, we served some delicious champagne punch.

I created this photo backdrop using a garden trellis I had on hand from Home Depot, paper streamers, ribbon and balloons.

I created this photo backdrop using a garden trellis I had on hand from Home Depot, paper streamers, ribbon and balloons.

 

Wedding Day:

My hairdresser of 10 years, Wendy Cosby (Luna Azul Colour & Hair Design) did Bailey's hair and makeup. In the background are our amazing bouquets from The Conservatorie.

My hairdresser of 10 years, Wendy Cosby, did a fabulous job with Bailey’s hair and makeup. In the background are our amazing bouquets from The Conservatorie.

Before the wedding we went to Washington Oaks State Park to take photos. I had to capture a few shots (doesn't this look like a fairy tale?), but I can't wait to see the real photos from Ashley Steeby.

Before the wedding we went to Washington Oaks State Park to take photos. I had to capture a few shots (doesn’t this look like a fairy tale?), but I can’t wait to see the real photos from Ashley Steeby.

A few of the other Bridesmaids and I during the reception. I brought a selfie stick which was a huge hit.

The reception was so much fun! The best part was that everyone, of every age, was on the dance floor. I brought a selfie stick and it was definitely a hit.

Here we are, beautiful bride and Maid of Honor.

Here we are, beautiful bride and Maid of Honor.

Bailey asked me to read this poem during the ceremony:

[i carry your heart with me ( i carry it in]
by E.E. Cummings
i carry your heart with me(i carry it in
my heart) i am never without it(anywhere
i go you go,my dear;and whatever is done
by only me is your doing,my darling) i fear
no fate (for you are my fate,my sweet) i want
no world (for beautiful you are my world,my true)
and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant
and whatever a sun will always sing is you
here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud
and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows
higher than soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart
i carry your heart (i carry it in my heart)
What a perfect description of love!
Leave a Reply

