Dia de la Revolución

On October 20th, Guatemala celebrates the ‘Day of Revolution.’ In 1944 on this day a coalition of teachers, workers and students in Guatemala overthrew the government of General Frederico Ponce, the front man for a cruel dictator named General Jorge Ubico y Castañeda. Democratic elections were held and Doctor Juan José Arévalo Bermejo was elected the first President of the Revolution. Ten years of peace and progress known as “The Springtime of Democracy” followed.

Jacobo Árbenz Guzmán, the second President of the Revolution, was overthrown by a CIA-backed coup because his land reform efforts affected powerful U.S. agricultural interests. Guatemala then entered almost four decades of military dictatorships, massacres and civil war. To read more about October Revolution Day in detail visit: http://shr.aaas.org/guatemala/ciidh/org_rep/english/part2_3.html

This day is marked by protests by unions, farmers, teachers and human rights organizations who still seek the truth about the ‘desaparecidos’ (vanished); more than 200,000 victims of the Guatemalan Civil War.
Graffiti on a wall in Xela

2 thoughts on “Dia de la Revolución

  1. Hey, I’ve been researching Guatemala and TRAMA Textiles, and I stumbled upon your blog! Don’t know if you’ll see this or not since it looks like your last entry was a couple months ago, but I would love to hear about your experiences because I am applying to volunteer there myself and realllllllyyy reallly hope they want me to come. I really want to learn the dying and weaving processes, seeing as I’m into fashion design and textiles, and I want to become fluent in Spanish, as well as learn about the business of free trade and cooperatives. Mostly, though, I just want to be immersed in a whole new culture away from the US and step outside of myself to help such a beautiful organization. I’d be very grateful for any kind of info or stories about your time with the women of TRAMA. I’m also trying to figure out how much money I would need to live on from day to day, if (crossing my fingers) they were to accept me.

    Hope all is well with you,

    Leslie

  2. Hello Leslie,
    Thanks for reading! I’ve been at TRAMA since July 1 and it’s been a wonderful experience. I was a fashion design major and women’s studies minor and have gained valuable insights and experience in both fields at TRAMA. How long do you plan to volunteer for? TRAMA is
    always accepting new volunteers but it’s
    preferred (and more enriching for you) that you
    stay at least a few months. There are lots of
    Spanish schools in Xela as well and many
    volunteers find it worth while to divide their time
    between Spanish classes and volunteering. You
    can find information about my experiences at
    TRAMA and living in Xela in my past entries.
    The amount of money you will need will depend
    on many factors such as housing (for example:
    home-stay with a local family through a Spanish
    school or apartment living), whether you plan
    to travel on weekends etc. Some websites with
    good resources are: xelawho.com and entremundos.com
    I hope this helps and that you are able to come
    to Guatemala!
    Emily

Leave a Reply

