“Packing Light, Packing Right”

I admit it; this is my first true attempt at packing light. Not to mention that somehow I always end of up with a little too much of this and not enough of that. When I set off for London last June my luggage was a burden (we won’t go into the details). A weekend excursion for me, usually requires more than a weekender bag. But with the reality of landing at La Aurora Airport in Guatemala City instead of Heathrow before me, I am determined to master the art of “packing light, packing right” and trust me…if I can do it, anyone can.

After many hours of everything from passive pondering to desperate decision-making, here are the results:
Photobucket

Clothing and technology were the hardest categories to par down. As far as clothing goes I ended up with: 1 dress, 2 skirts, 1 pair long pants, 1 pair capris, 1 pair yoga pants, 2 short-sleeved t-shirts, 2 long-sleeved t-shirts, 1 camisole, 2 tank tops, 1 heavy sweater (remember, Xela is up in the Western Highlands), 1 rain jacket, 3 pairs underwear (one to wear, one to wash, one just in case), 3 bras (including one sports bra), 3 pairs of socks, 1 bathing suit, chaco sandals, hiking boots.
Not bad.
A word on packing cubes…I used to think that packing cubes were a waste of money that took up extra space in the end anyway. That is, until I got sucked into watching a packing demo at The Container Store and saw for myself that you really can fit more in them (when you roll your clothing) than if you just folded clothing into a pack or suitcase. I find them especially helpful since I am using a pack and the cubes keep everything in their place.

Tomorrow I head to Orlando and Thursday I fly to Guatemala City, bright and early! I am looking forward to reading Guatemaltecas: the Women’s Movement 1986-2003 by Susan A. Berger on the plane.

4 thoughts on ““Packing Light, Packing Right”

  1. wow, you did great packing!! How long did that take you! Lauren told all about the packing system and I think I’m going to check it out when I get to STL… Also, rolling is the trick! I learned that years ago when a new zealand traveler was staying at my house. Good luck and have a safe and fun journey. You have a good read and a good heart and sometimes that’s all you need. I hope our paths cross soon.

  2. wow emily! i never thought this day would come…you are only bringing 1 or 2 of each clothing article!! i’m SO excited for you and SO excited to read your blog and keep up to date on all your adventures. i miss you…don’t forget to bring back some beautiful Trama stuff for me!

  3. Are you crazy?! 1 dress? 2 skirts?… Wow, you have much knowledge! We need to learn from you. Hope you are having an amazing time!! Can’t wait to hear all about it! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

