Hello world

Welcome to my travel blog! I have some serious regrets about not keeping a blog during my last summer abroad (although I kept a pretty thorough journal and carried my camera with me everywhere; you can view those photos, as well as photos from other trips I’ve taken, here) and I wanted this time to be different.

The goal of this blog is to document my upcoming trip to Guatemala, where I will be volunteering with a fair trade, worker-owned, women’s weaving association TRAMA Textiles. I will be writing about the contemporary issues that affect the people of Guatemala, especially women; as well as keeping my friends and family updated about my adventures. Above all, I really hope to encourage and inspire others to make similar trips. As Mark Twain rightly said “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness” but sometimes it requires stepping off the tourist trail and outside your comfort zone.

I was not always so venturesome. If you could have seen the breakdown I suffered as a 5th grader in the jetway before my first-ever flight, you would never believe that these days I board planes willingly. After years of flying across the continental US, I was still more than a little trepidatious last summer before my first trans-Atlantic flight; but touching down in London made it all worth it. My experiences have taught me that a journey is always worth any pre-flight jitters.

I look forward to sharing my experiences with you!

Love,
Emily

4 thoughts on “Hello world

  1. never knew you had jitters about airplanes… personally I love them… anyway, I look forward to seeing your journey! don’t forget us at home!

Leave a Reply

